Saturday, February 4, 2012

The twelve forms of Surya

Indra - stays in devaloka and destroys daityas and danavas
Dhata - stays in Brahma and causes creation
Parjanya - stays in sunrays and causes rain
Pusha - stays in mantra for the welfare of beings
Tvashta - stays in plants and herbs
Aryama - stays in dwelling places and protects
Bhaga - stays on earth and mountains
Vivasvan - stays in Agni and digests food
Amshu - stays in the moon and supports the worlds
Vishnu - takes avatar to destroy evil
Varuna - stays in ocean and gives life
Mitra - stays on the banks of Chandrabhaga river